## NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA

## Report of the 2016 Committee on Elections

Louisville, Kentucky

May 21, 2016

## TO: NRA Annual Meeting of Members

The Bylaws of the Association designate the NRA Committee on Elections as being responsible for the conduct of the election of Directors. The Committee selected a leading international accounting firm to assist with the election. The Committee also selected a qualified document-imaging firm to optically scan the ballots.

The detailed procedures to maintain control over the ballots, determine their validity, and assure accurate scanning and tabulation were approved by Committee members prior to the beginning of ballot tabulation. The procedures addressed compliance with required provisions of the NRA's Bylaws; and Committee members personally observed the processes performed to confirm that all requirements were being met.

The results of the 2016 Directors election process are as follows:

A total of 2,112,643 ballots were mailed to eligible voting members of the Association for the election of twenty-five Directors for three-year terms ending in 2019. A total of 164,026 ballots were cast by eligible members. All ballots received were valid, except for a total of 3,282 which were judged invalid for the following reasons:

Ballots with over 25 votes	1,602
Ballots not properly authenticated	723
Ballots received after May 1, 2016	311
Ballots with zero votes	273
Ballots with no rotation number	233
Ballots in an incorrect envelope	57
Ballots missing nominees/bubbles	36
Ballots returned with more than one vote per candidate	30
Multiple ballots in one envelope	6
Copies of ballots	6
Improper ballots (prior year)	5

A total of 1,725 ballots included write-in votes or a combination of write-in votes and votes for candidates on the printed ballot. No write-in candidate, who was not on the printed ballot, received enough votes to be elected to the Board of Directors.

In accordance with Article VIII, Section 2, of the NRA Bylaws, as Chairman of the Committee on Elections, I declare the following 25 members to have been elected Directors of the NRA for three-year terms ending in 2019, to take office from the adjournment of this meeting:

1.	Oliver L. North	128,099
2.	Ted Nugent	124,471
3.	Sandra S. Froman	109,369
4.	Susan Howard	103,110
5.	Bob Barr	99,215
6.	Marion P. Hammer	95,086
7.	Don E. Young	95,057
8.	Allen B. West	94,462
9.	Johnny Nugent	93,200
10.	Pete R. Brownell	91,325
11.	Joe M. Allbaugh	88,970
12.	Larry E. Craig	88,109
13.	Karl A. Malone	84,806
14.	Matt Blunt	84,629
15.	Richard R. Childress	82,840
16.	Esther Schneider	81,258
17.	Blaine Wade	77,327
18.	Craig Morgan	77,199
19.	M. Carol Bambery	76,916
20.	James W. Porter II	76,885
21.	Dwight D. Van Horn	76,147
22.	Dave Butz	75,974
23.	Bart Skelton	73,480
24.	Frank E. Bachhuber, Jr.	73,162
25.	Tom King	71,473
		, _, ., .

The remaining candidates on the ballot, who were <u>not</u> elected, are as follows:

26.	Sean Maloney	70,632
27.	Steven C. Schreiner	70,257
28.	Willes K. Lee	69,139
29.	Richard L. Kussman	67,785
30.	Lance Olson	67,429
31.	Robert E. Sanders	67,398
32.	Steve Reichert	64,775
33.	Graham Hill	64,170

34.	N. Stephanie Spika	61,288
35.	Antonio A. Hernandez	60,195
36.	Robert E. Thornton	57,395
37.	Mark K. Humphreville	53,573
38.	Stephen J. Aldstadt	47,032
39.	Harold J. Rocketto	45,496

One additional Director also will be elected for a one-year term by those members present and voting at this Annual Meeting of Members. Eligible voters include not only Lifetime Members and Annual Members with five or more consecutive years of membership who were eligible to vote in the mail elections, but <u>ALL</u> Annual Members present whose fully paid membership was received by the Secretary on or before April 1, 2016, who have attained the age of 18 years, and who are citizens of the United States. <u>Candidates for election at this Annual Meeting of Members are those candidates who were nominated previously for the mail election of Directors but failed to be elected.</u>

Voting for this additional Director began Thursday at 2:00 p.m. in the Membership Verification Room and will close today at 4:00 p.m., or upon the adjournment of this Annual Meeting of Members, whichever is later. The results will be announced at this evening's event, and will also be published in the Official Journal, along with this Report.

A total of 2,112,643 ballots were mailed to eligible voting members of the Association for the special recall ballot. A total of 144,779 ballots were cast by eligible members. All of the ballots received were valid except for a total of 4,042 which were judged invalid for the following reasons:

Ballots with zero votes	2,754
Ballots not properly authenticated	690
Ballots received after cutoff date	311
Ballots with no rotation number/damaged	228
Ballots in an incorrect envelope	51
Ballots missing nominees/bubbles	7
Copies of ballots	1

Therefore, in accordance with Article VIII, Section 2 and Article IX, Section 2 of the NRA Bylaws, as Chairman of the Committee on Elections, I declare that the recall failed by a vote of:

<u>NO</u> 70,204

<u>YES</u> 62,066

Respectfully submitted,

Carl T. Rowan, Jr. Chairman

## **2016 COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS**

Carl T. Rowan, Jr., Chairman
Herbert A. Lanford, Jr., Vice Chairman
Warren L. Cheek
James W. Porter III
William H. Satterfield
Ronald L. Schmeits
John C. Frazer, Secretary